Chairman’s Blog May/June 2021

Passing the Torch 🔥

This will be my last Chairman’s Blog post – as by the time you read this I will have transitioned to the role of Past-Chair for the Environmental Stewardship, Utilities, and Sustainability Community. Having held the Chair role since July 2017, I am well past due to pass the torch to the eminently capable hands of your new ESUS Chairperson – Debbie Jaslow Shatz.

Debbie is a Facility Management and Sustainability Professional with more than 35 years of diversified experience. Her accomplishments include building and maintaining innovative, trendsetting, and award-winning facilities. Debbie has worked for such notable firms as Bloomberg L.P., Credit Suisse First Boston, Poppe Tyson Interactive, MCI/News Corp, PaineWebber, Shearson Lehman, and Chemical Bank.

Debbie is a Past President and Founding Member of the New York City Chapter of the IFMA, where she is an active member participating on the chapter’s Sustainability Committee and Past President’s Circle. Debbie obtained her Certified Facility Manager (CFM) designation in 1993, as a member of IFMA’s first class of CFMs and was recognized along with other CFM recipients at World Workplace 2018 for having maintained their CFMs for 25 years.

In addition to being active in IFMA on a local and international basis, Debbie participates in the New York City Carbon Challenge for Commercial Owners and Tenants, where she is a member of the Commercial Working Group Landlord-Tenant Taskforce and is a presence at the Local Law 97 workshops. As a member of the U.S. Green Buildings Council, she received her LEED AP designation in 2009. Debbie is a member of the Founders Circle of the Sustainable Purchasing Leadership Council and a member of the Institute for Supply Chain Management (ISM), where she is a past Chair of the New York Chapter’s Sustainability Committee.

She is the recipient of many industry awards including the 2015 IFMA International Sheila Sheridan Award for Sustainable Facility Operations and Management, 2015 Institute of Supply Chain Management New York City J.H. Leonard Award recognizing and honoring a regular member who has contributed time and talent to the continued growth, development and professional stature of ISM NYC, 2011 IFMA NYC Anthony J. Cornacchia Distinguished Service Award, 2010 IFMA NYC Distinguished Professional Member of the Year, IFMA NYC 2000 Millennium Award, 1999 IFMA NYC Distinguished Author of the Year and the 1998 IFMA International Distinguished Author of the Year.

A generous and compassionate person, Debbie manages to find time in her always busy schedule to volunteer for various philanthropic and charitable causes.
It has been an honor and privilege to serve as Chair of this Community, and I look forward to continuing my involvement as Past-Chair…

Dean Stanberry